Star Wars: Prequels Are Actually Amazing

stardust
3 min readJun 30, 2021

Most hated and loved part of the saga

If you asked 100 Star Wars fans what is their opinion on the prequels you would get 100 different answers. Some people hate them for no reason, some don’t like them because of the actors, dialogue, script or whatnot. On the other hand, a lot of people (myself included) love them unconditionally. And here is why.

Foundation for the OT

Prequels did an amazing job completing the original storyline and, along with Clone Wars, they added a lot more meaning to the fall of Anakin Skywalker and the rise of Darth Vader. Also, this era shows the beginning of Star Wars universe the best. We see the Republic, the Jedi council and learn a lot about the ways of the Force.

Incredible planets

We do see this in every trilogy, but I just LOVE the cinematography in prequels and how many new and beautiful worlds are introduced to us. It really shows that Star Wars is more than just Tatooine.

The cast

Now I know there is a lot of mixed feelings about the actors, however, I will defend every single one of them till the day I die. Especially Hayden Christensen, he was the perfect Anakin Skywalker and I am beyond excited for his return to Star Wars since fans treated him poorly. Of course, not every character is a good character, but that does not mean we should give any hate to the actors.

The plot

I think every movie has a really good story and all three are well connected. There is a lot of funny scenes, as well as some pretty dark and sad moments. All of the movies have a nice flow, but at the same time, they can keep you on the edge of your seats (especially ROTS). Also, we got to see some really cool new characters such as Darth Maul, Qiu-Gon Jin, Jango Fett, etc.

Epic lightsaber duels

In the OT we saw lightsabers for the first time and mostly Lukes skills were showed. Prequels had a lot more duels, and of course, there was a lot more Jedi who used lightsabers. At the very beginning of the first movie we start with Obi and Qiu-Gon, then it continues with Duel of the Fates, Battle of Geonosis, Battle of Heroes, etc. And they all look amazing.

The era of clone wars

The very end of the second movie, third movie and the clone wars show is my absolute favourite part of Star Wars. All of my favourite characters are from this era, and, for me, it opened a whole another point of view on clones, the war and crisis that the Republic had to face. It showed all the good and bad sides of being a Jedi, all their struggles and sacrifices they had to make.

So yeah, these are the main reasons why I think that prequels are gold. We can always agree to disagree, this is just my opinion, but I would like to hear yours in the comments.

I hope I will see you in some of my future posts, and remember; the Force will be with you, always!

--

--

stardust
0 Followers

- just a simple girl trying to make her way through the galaxy